Elisabeth Gets Her Way, 28. - 29. January 2022

Elisabeth Gets Her Way,
28. - 29. January 2022

In this solo choreographer and dancer Jan Martens dives into the universe of harpsichord player Elisabeth Chojnacka (1939 – 2017)

  • Duration70 min
  • Price165-340
  • StageMain stage

Dates & times

  • 28. January - 18:00
  • 29. January - 18:00

The new solo created and performed by Jan Martens will be a danced portrait of the Polish-born Elisabeth Chojnacka (1939–2017), an exceptionally talented and passionate musician who contributed to the revival of harpsichord music in the middle of the twentieth century.
While in 1968 the Paris student revolt challenged old ideals, Chojnacka discovered avant-garde composers such as François-Bernard Mâche and began to play more regularly the few contemporary works for harpsichord, in addition to the classical pieces that were always part of her repertoire. In part thanks to her talent and perseverance, a number of composers (Ligeti, Xenakis, Ferrari, Berio, Halffter, etc.) wrote new work for the harpsichord in the 1970s and 1980s. These were often dedicated to Chojnacka.

Background material



  • Choreography and dance

    Jan Martens

  • Sound engineer documentary

    Yanna Soentjens

  • Lighting design

    Elke Verachteert

  • Costume design

    Cédric Charlier

  • Video excerpts

    © Archives INA

  • Technical direction

    Michel Spang/Elke Verachtert

  • Outside eye

    Marc Vanrunxt, Anne-Lise Brevers, Rudi Meulemans

  • Photo

    Luis Xertu

Music: Tango for Tim Réf Im: 164578 musikk by Michael Nyman © Chester Music Ltd représentés par Première Music Group; Phrygian Tucket av Stephen Montague. Copyright © 2000, Stephen Montague, used by permission of UNITED MUSIC PUBLISHING LTD, England.; Continuum by György Ligeti. Het werk wordt gepresenteerd onder toezicht van Auteursbureau ALMO te Antwerpen namens Schott Music.; Commencement av Zygmunt Krauze. Copyright © 1982, Sonora Music for Zygmunt Krauze.; Profil Sonore by Graciane Finzi. Copyright © 1970, Graciane Finzi.; Concerto pour Clavecin av Manuel de Falla (1926).; Uppon La Mi Re av Anonymous (1500-tallet).
DE SINGEL (Antwerpen, BE), Les Hivernales – CDCN d’Avignon (FR), Julidans (Amsterdam, NL), C-TAKT (Limburg, BE) and Perpodium (BE)
Internasjonal distribusjon: A Propic – Line Rousseau en Marion Gauvent
DE SINGEL (Antwerp, BE), Les Hivernales – CDCN d’Avignon (FR), Toneelhuis (Antwerpen, BE), ccBe (Antwerpen, BE), C-TAKT (Limburg, BE) and CN D – Centre national de la danse (Paris, FR)
Finansiell støtte:
the Flemish Government, Tax Shelter of the Belgian Federal Government and Cronos Invest
Thanks to:
INA - l'Institut National de l' Audiovisuel, Les Ballets de Monte-Carlo ved Présidence de S.A.R. la Princesse de Hanovre - Direction: Jean-Christophe Maillot, Graciane Finzi, Régis Mitonneau, Anne Montaron, Emmanuelle Tat, François-Bernard Mâche, Zygmunt Krauze, Stephen Montague, Raphaël de Gubernatis, Claire Verlet, Ty Boomershine, Joris van Oosterwijk, Liselotte Sels and Kinga Jaczewska

  • 01 RETT STR FLANDERS LOGO flanders horizontaal naakt